What is the significance of Exalted Planets in Vedic Astrology

Home : Astrology: You are here

birth chart
Planets are in their highest dignity when they are exalted in the birth chart or so-called horoscope or kundli. Here are the 7 planets and the respective signs where they are exalted according to Vedic Astrology.

Sun is exalted in the sign of Aries.

Moon is exalted in the sign of Taurus

Mercury is said to be exalted in its own sign Virgo.

Mars is exalted in the sign of Capricorn

Venus is exalted in the sign of Pisces.

Saturn is exalted in the sign of Libra

Jupiter is exalted in the sign of Cancer

Just check the birth horoscope of Lord Rama, the incarnation of Lord Vishnu, and you can see 5 planets (out of 7) in his birth chart are exalted and Moon is sitting in its own sign. It will be difficult to achieve something higher in life unless at least 1 or 2 planets are exalted if not more or at least some of them are placed in their own sign if not exalted.

I have checked the birth chart of many famous sports personalities and most of them have their Mars exalted (placed in the sign of Capricorn). For example, Sachin Tendulkar (a great cricket player) and Sania Mirza (a great tennis player from India) both have their Mars exalted.

Mars is your energy and willpower and it rules the Muladhara Chakra in your body. When Mars is exalted it means your Muladhara Chakra is very strong and that is the reason you have great energy and willpower in you and that also makes you courageous. A lot of energy is needed in sports competitions and so the success will be difficult unless your Mars is exalted or it is in the sign of Pisces. Mars in Pisces is better if you need flexibility in the body such as when you are involved in sports such as Gymnastics.

Also, people with exalted Mars are dignified and honest and so good for high authority posts in a company or even in the government or military. Mars is as good as an exalted Mars if your Mars is placed in the 10th house irrespective of the sign. This is because in the default zodiac 10th house is ruled by the sign of Capricorn where Mars is exalted.

Sun represents the forehead and it rules the Aganya Chakra in your body's subtle system. If your Sun is exalted in the birth chart then you may achieve some leadership position in your life because Sun represents higher posts and higher authorities. But the planets in the birth chart shows only your life's situation. If you want to check if your Aganya Chakra is strong or not you need to better check the location of the Sun in the Navamsa chart as this chart shows the inner strength of the planets. I have made it more clear in the article > significance of Exalted Venus. People with exalted Sun (especially in the Navamsa Chart) are very humble and forgiving and intelligent at the same time.

Exalted Mercury is very good for studies and detail-oriented work. But it will be more beneficial if it is exalted in the Navamsa Chart. Mercury is your ability to comprehend things as it represents intelligence, the brain, and creativity. It is a great placement for doing well in accounting and the subject of biology and studies in general. Mercury rules the Swadisthana Chakra in the human subtle system which mainly governs our creativity. That is the reason exalted mercury is also good for creativity other than Venus.

If somehow Saturn is aspecting exalted mercury in the birth chart then even the exalted mercury could give a lot of troubles in life as then you are using your brain too much (a lot of mental activity) which may result in diseases like diabetes or nerves failure which comes from too much thinking when Swadisthana Chakra goes bad.

Exalted Jupiter gives you great discretion and you become a person with a lot of wisdom and knowledge. This is better than exalted mercury as then you grasp any subject just from your discretion. This also gives you great intuition power. Nothing could be better than an exalted Jupiter to get success in any field of life.

Exalted Saturn could give you a long lasting profession as Saturn is the significator of Karma in Vedic Astrology. It gives you an important post in your field of career where you become the judge to resolve all problems and disputes of people.

But the results of exalted planets are different in different houses and so you need to analyze carefully.

Written by: Rajesh Bihani ( Find me on Google+ )

Disclaimer: The suggestions in the article(wherever applicable) are for informational purposes only. They are not intended as medical or any other type of advice